Tags

, , , , ,

During the summer holidays, the school where we usually have dance class is closed, and we rent the space of a local dance school once a week. This is a vast difference from the school gym that we usually use. It is a proper dance space, with a good floor, barres and floor-to-ceiling mirrors on two walls.

It’s a new and slightly strange experience. We’re not used to being able to see how we look when we dance, at least not without some effort. I was surprised at how scary it felt. Probably it is different when you are used to it, but I messed up absolutely everything on the first day. The fact that everyone can see what you’re doing is unnerving.

On the other hand, it has been quite useful so far. The most important one: I forget my turnout SO OFTEN. My feet can turn out without problem, but perhaps I’m not strong enough to do so when I’m dancing. Or perhaps I am so used to forgetting that it just feels weird or wrong when I actually do it. But it also depends on the dance. In my heavy jig I have far better turnout and crossing than in any of my other dances. Although not exactly without room for improvement…

Other useful realisations has been that my points aren’t quite good, mostly because of the turnout, and that my soft shoes do not fit me well. I will order new ones, but I have to wait until I can afford it.

There are probably countless little (and not-so-little) things that I need to fix in my dancing. Still, it’s nice to be able to see them for myself, since some things were far worse than I thought. I really want to move on from primary to intermediate soon(ish), so, well, I’ll have to work. Hard.

So that’s my project for the spring. Improving my general fitness and drilling dance technique (focusing on quality) and other exercises that improve my dancing far, far more. I’m thinking of doing more ballet again, since that helps with my technique even if I don’t do the same dance form. And strength training, cardio and quite a bit of flexibility training. We’ll see!

